Lil Wayne Drops New Album Funeral

Featuring Big Sean, Lil Baby, Jay Rock, the-Dream, Adam Levine, and more.


Dwayne Michael Carter Jr. (born September 27, 1982), known professionally as Lil Wayne, is an American rapper, singer, songwriter, record executive, entrepreneur, and actor. His career began in 1996, at the age of 13, when he was discovered by Birdman and joined Cash Money Records as the youngest member of the label.

Lil Wayne’s latest studio album Funeral is out now, via Young Money/Republic. The album features Big Sean, 2 Chainz, Lil Baby, Jay Rock, the-Dream, Adam Levine, the late XXXTentacion, Lil Twist, O.T. Genasis, and Takeoff.

“Lil Wayne included 24 seconds of silence on the 8th track of his new album in honor of Kobe Bryant, he confirmed to Fox Sports.”

Leading up to the release of the album, Wayne spoke about how Funeral would sound more current. “What the new thing is for me is actually trying to put out music that sounds a little more like today’s music,” he explained to New Orleans radio station Q93.3. “What that means for me… is adding hooks. I forget about hooks. I forget ’em. Somebody gotta come in the booth and stop me from rapping, like, ‘This is where you stop it and add a hook.’”

Funeral is the follow-up to Wayne’s Tha Carter V, which arrived in 2018 after years’ delay. The song “Bing James,” featuring Jay Rock, includes a 24-second moment of silence in honor of the late Kobe Bryant, who wore the number 24 on his jersey until his retirement in 2016.

Last summer, Wayne toured North America with blink-182, teamed up with Birdman and Juvenile for a new song, and featured on a Travis Barker track with Rick Ross.